The department of political science is on of the oldest department of the college. It was established in 1981. When the college began offering Political science subject to U.G. level. The department began to offer P.G. in political science form 1986 with a sanctioned strength of 40 students.

The department got the scope to expand its sphere of activities in larger scale. Various programmes to engage the students and enhance their creativity and skills have been introduced, along with innovative methods of teaching.